Blacklist of 17 Countries Serving as Tax Havens

The EU has recently released a blacklist of 17 countries that they say are tax havens. This comes after a ten month investigation where they identified places that are not doing enough, the EU says, to crack down on offshore avoidance plans. The 17 places include: American Samoa, Bahrain, Barbados, Grenada, Guam, South Korea, Macau, Marshall Islands, Mongolia, Namibia, Palau, Panama, Saint Lucia, Samoa, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia and the United Arab Emirates.

The list actually excludes some key places that were on a previous list from June 2015. These include British Overseas Territories like the Cayman Island and Bermuda. They were taken off the list this time.

The most recent list was drafted by the European Council’s Code of Conduct (COC). Learn more about these issues.

Sorry, comments are closed for this post.