The Republic of Macedonia is situated in Southeast Europe in the central Balkan Peninsula. Macedonia is one of the successor states of what was formerly Yugoslavia. It declared independence in 1991. Bordered by Kosovo, Serbia, Bulgaria, Greece and Albania, Macedonia has over fifty lakes and sixteen mountains higher than 2,000 m.

Macedonia is a member of the Council of Europe and of the UN. It is currently ranked as the fourth “best reformatory state” of the countries evaluated by the World Bank. Since its independence, Macedonia has developed an open economy, in which 90% of the GDP is a result of trade.

Finance Information

National Bank of the Republic of Macedonia
Governor: Petar Goshev

Investment Banks

Major Companies

<–Back to Index