Czech Republic


The Czech Republic is a landlocked country in Central Europe.  The country shares borders with Poland to the northeast, Austria to the south, Germany to the west and northwest, and Slovakia to the east. The Czech Republic has been a member of NATO since 1999 and joined  the European Union in 2004.  In addition to the EU and NATO the Czech Republic belongs to the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE). As part of the OSCE the Czech Republic’s international commitments necessitate that they are monitored under the mandate of the U.S. Helsinki Commission. The Czech Republic held the Presidency of the Council of the European Union from 1 January 2009 to 30 June 2009.

Finance Information

Czech Republic Central Bank

Bank Governor: Miroslav Singer

Investment Banks

Major Companies

  • Skoda Auto
  • CEZ energy
  • Foxconn engineering

<–Back to Index