Belgium or also known as the Kingdom of Belgium, is a country located in Western Europe. Belgium is accredited in founding the European Union and presently hosts the headquarters of the EU. It also hosts NATO and other major international organizations . The territory of Belgium stretches over an area of 30,528 square kilometres, which holds a population of about 10.8 million people. Belgium has two main cultural and linguistic groups, the Dutch-speakers, who are mostly Flemish, and Walloons who speak mostly French, plus a small group of German-speakers. The Flemish and the Walloons make up Belgium’s two largest regions, Flanders in the north, which is Dutch speaking and the French-speaking southern region of Wallonia. The Brussels-Capital Region, officially bilingual, is a mostly French-speaking enclave within the Flemish Region. Eastern Wallonia has a small German speaking community. The diverse cultural and linguistic make up of Belgium are reflected in its sometimes chaotic political history and a complex system of government.

Finance Information

Belgium Central Bank
Bank Govenor: Guy Quaden

Investment Banks

Major Companies

<–Back to Index