Denmark Flag


Denmark, is officially a monarchy. Denmark is a Scandinavian country in Northern Europe that also applies control over Greenland and the Faroe Islands. It is situated southwest of Sweden and south of Norway, and is bordered by Germany in its south. Denmark has coasts on both the Baltic and the North Sea.  The geography of Denmark is made up of a large peninsula called Jutland and alsomany islands. Of the islands the most known are Zealand (Sjælland), Funen (Fyn), Vendsyssel-Thy, Lolland, Falster and Bornholm. Besides these there are hundreds of minor islands known to many as the Danish Archipelago.

As a constitutional monarchy Denmark employs a  parliamentary system of government. Denmark also has local and state authorities. Denmark joined the European Union in 1973, but has yet to become a member of the Eurozone. Denmarkwas one of the founding members of NATO as well as the OECD. Denmark is also part of the Organisation for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE).

Finance Information

Central Bank of Denmark

Bank Governor: Torben Nielsen

Investment Banks

Major Companies

<–Back to Index