Hungary FlagHungary is located in Central Europe, in the Pannonian Basin. It shares its borders with Slovakia, Ukraine, Romania, Serbia, Croatia, Slovenia and Austria. The capital is called Budapest, and the official language is Hungarian. Hungary is a member of the European Union, NATO, the OECD and the Visegrad Group, and is a Schengen state, as well. On January 1st, 2011, it became the seat for the Presidency of the Council of the European Union. Hungary’s parliamentary republic government was established in 1989. Today Hungary is, in some regards, a regional leader, and a high-income economy.

Hungary is listed as one of the top thirty tourist destinations in the world, with over 8.6 million visits each year. The country has the largest thermal water cave system and the second largest thermal lake in the world; Lake Heviz. It is also home to Lake Balaton, the largest lake in Central Europe, as well as the largest natural grasslands on the continent, Hortobagy.

Finance Information

Hungary Central Bank

Central Bank Governor: Andras Simor

Investment Banks

Major Companies

<–Back to Index