Croatia is situated in Southeastern Europe at the crossroads of the Pannonian Plain, the Balkans, and the Adriatic Sea. Croatia’s capital and largest city is Zagreb. Croatia borders Slovenia to the north, Hungary to the northeast, Bosnia and Herzegovina to the southeast, Serbia to the east, and Montenegro to the southeast.

Although the Croats arrived in their present location in the 7th century, the first king, King Tomislav was not crowned until 925 CE.  At that point Croatia became a kingdom. The Kingdom of Croatia remained sovereign for nearly two centuries, reaching its height during the rule of Kings Peter Krešimir IV and Demetrius Zvonimir. In 1102 Croatia entered into a union with Hungary. In 1527, the Croatian Parliament elected Ferdinand from the House of Habsburg to the Croatian throne. Croatia declared independence from Austria–Hungary in 1918 and then co-founded the Kingdom of Yugoslavia. A Croatian state existed for a short time during World War II. After World War II, Croatia became a founding member of the Second Yugoslavia. Croatia became an independent and sovereign state on June 25th 1991.

Finance News

Central Bank of Croatia

Bank Governor: Zeljko Rohatinski

Investment Banks

Major Companies

<–Back to Index