GermanyGermany is a country located in Central Europe. Its shares the northern border with the North Sea, Denmark and the Baltic Sea. To Germany’s east lie Poland and the Czech Republic, and to the south Austria and Switzerland. On the west border are France, Luxembourg, Belgium and the Netherlands. Germany hosts 81.8 million inhabitants, and is the most crowded state of the European Union.

An area called Germania was documented prior to AD 100. In the tenth century, German territories joined to form a central part of the Holy Roman Empire. This lasted until 1806. Northern Germany became the center of the Protestant Reformation in the sixteenth century. In 1871 Germany was first unified during the Franco-Prussian War, and was divided again after World War II in 1949. Today, Germany is a federal parliamentary republic which consists of sixteen states. Its capital is Berlin. It is the second largest exporter and third largest importer in the world.

Finance Information

Central Bank of Germany

Bank Governor: Professor Axel A Weber

Investment Banks

Major Companies

<–Back to Index