Albania is located in South Eastern Europe and is bordered by Montenegro to the northwest, Kosovo to the northeast, the Republic of Macedonia to the east and Greece to the south and southeast. The Adriatic Sea is to its west, and the Ionian Sea is to its southwest. Albania is a member of the United Nations, NATO, the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe, Council of Europe, World Trade Organisation, Organisation of the Islamic Conference and one of the founding members of the Union for the Mediterranean. Although in Europe, Albania has only formally applied for EU membership on 28 April 2009. Albania’s form of government is parliamentary democracy and it has a transition economy. The Albanian capital, Tirana, is home to approximately 607,467 of the country’s 3.2 million people. Tirana also serves as Albania’s financial capital of the country. Various free-market reforms have opened the tiny country to foreign investment, most notably in the area of energy development and transportation infrastructure.

Finance Information

Central Bank of Albania

President: Ardian Fullani

Investment Banks

Major Companies

<–Back To Index