Bulgaria is a country in Southern Europe. Bulgaria shares its border with five countries. Romania is to the north (mostly along the Danube), Serbia and the Republic of Macedonia to the west, and Greece and Turkey to the south. The Black Sea borders the country to the east.

Bulgaria is the 16th-largest country in Europe with a territory that spans 110,994 square kilometers. ┬áThere are some mountainous areas that seem to define Bulgaria’s landscape. ┬áThese include the Stara Planina and Rodopi mountain ranges, as well as the Rila range, which includes the highest peak in the Balkan region, Musala. In contrast to its mountainous areas, the Danubian plain in the north and the Upper Thracian Plain in the south represent Bulgaria’s lowest and most fertile regions. Bulgaria’s capital and largest city is Sofia, housing 1,378,000 people.

Finance Information

Bulgarian National Bank
Bank Governor: Ivan Iskrov

Investment Banks

Major Companies

<–Back to Index